Multichannel Sound Card vs. USB Audio Interface

everything about FutureDecks Lite / FutureDecks DJ / future.dj (tips, wish list).
dj jazzy l

Multichannel Sound Card vs. USB Audio Interface

Postby dj jazzy l » Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:06 pm

I need some assistance. I'm a novice. So some of the questions I ask may seem elementary to some but I'm just out of the womb. I want to use the headphone feature on FutureDecks Express. While on Amazon.com, they offered me two choices and I want to know if either will work sufficiently to utilize the headphone feature.

7.1 Channel USB External Sound Card Audio Adapter
USB 2.0 External 5.1 Channel 3D Sound Card Adapter for PC Notebook Laptop

At this point I know I would need to purchase a 5.1 or 7.1 soundcard.

OR

Numark DJ I/O Multi Channel USB 2.0 DJ Audio Interface

Explain to me what will and won't work.

Also
Audio-Technica BPHS1 Broadcast Stereo Headset
I want to be able to talk to my audience without using a stand-alone handheld microphone.

Xenobase
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Multichannel Sound Card vs. USB Audio Interface

Postby Xenobase » Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:07 pm

Go for the Numark DJ I/O Multi Channel USB 2.0 DJ Audio Interface.

Why?:
http://www.numark.com/djio wrote: DJ|iO has stereo outputs for a main sound system, a secondary or monitoring system and headphones, as well as a microphone input with a hardware volume control.

You will need the secondary headphones output in order to pre listen a track in Deck A, while the track in Deck B is audible on the main sound system.

The other soundcard(s) you mentioned do not offer seperate outputs: you won't be able to pre-listen tracks, only hear what is currently playing on the main sound system.

However, the Numark DJ|iO does not have a microphone XLR input, but instead has a 1/4" input.
So you will either need to look for another soundcard, or buy a convertor plug (XLR to 1/4"), which will give some quality loss.

DJ A. J. Slye
Volunteer Moderator